Skip to content
April 24, 2013 / Tina

I am Home

Written by Martina Carroll

I am home
dancing in the kitchen together
with laughing children
having fun.
Curled up on the sofa
infant held lovingly in arms
now empty.

Home where you were unhappy and silent
and now in a hotel lobby far away
we both know
that timeless place
that placeless time
I am home

Sipping cold summer wine
on lakeshores in Bracciano and Rome
tacos in Madrid, kotlets in Łodz
sleeping on trains, in car parks and city streets.
Crayola and beer and fresh orange juice,
The Prado, the Louvre and Tate,
on and on to the end of the road.
I was always home.
We are home.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. John / May 11 2013 11:06 pm

    I remember you reading this Tina one night Tina, I liked it then, nice to see it here. Home is other people (to recoin a phrase!).

  2. Alda / Nov 18 2014 8:28 pm

    Lovely poem, Tina. I am glad that I am now finally following the blog. Looking forward to other poems. x

Leave a Reply

