Skip to content
June 6, 2013 / Tina

The Painter

Written by Martina Carroll

The painter speaks on the phone
About Ideas Unfinished
So I turn to my journal
Of two years ago.

The painting’s about freedom
The artist needs to be free
And so he paints keyholes
Over and over.

The keyholes like I’s
That hang on my walls
I’s that don’t see
Eyes I don’t see
Apart of my space.

The square’s a royal infant
No longer white, red or blue
Now it’s a rainbow
bright colours swirling.

I’ve extended my family
Out into the city
Of artists and writers
Through keyholes like eyes.

Yet danger still lurks there
With smiles and white teeth
To pounce unsuspected
Unseen and unheard.

Leave a Reply

