Skip to content
November 21, 2016 / hbrowne4

Eventually a Champion by Joan Healy

I count men as encounters

Of barely-nearly and near misses,

Close calls and close shaves,

Butterfly love and puppy kisses.

 

I almost married you,

But another girl stepped into the ring.

I almost loved you,

But a soldier is no match for a king.

 

I remain unfazed by fate,

Unmystified by mystery.

I see only good things for me without you.

My Disney destiny is history.

 

I am now my own champion,

My why and my how,

If you were something I had missed,

Wouldn’t I be missing you now?

Leave a Reply

