From the series: What if I have misunderstood?

Oh, how I laugh today
But it was not always that way
I feared the wrecking knowing
Of the deeply hidden truth showing

That Step 4 breaks my heart
I feel my faults are off the chart
But I am taken to Love’s call
As written by St. Paul

“…Love rejoiceth not in iniquity
But rejoiceth in the truth…”

Their meaning to me I missed
How could I uncover their gift
Wisdom comes, but dripping slow
I offer what I came to know

Make modern the word ‘rejoiceth’
This is what wisdom suggesteth
And lo! It’s meaning, me hearties
Is rejoices, celebrates, parties

Iniquity sounds familiar to me
Doing wrong is easy but has a fee
No love partying deep inside when I do wrong
And, feeling unworthy, I smother my birdsong

Speaking truth in Step 4 and more
Begins my return to my core
True love loves; and loves my asking for honesty
Willing me to party, as he leads me from travesty

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.