This is true for me

Concluding the series:

What If I Have Misunderstood?
What if I have misunderstood
Ever since childhood; all the years long
Labelling as “bad” that which is good
Branding true love, life, and me all wrong

(Accepting the gift that true love had always offered but I, in my severe mental illness, refused)

Oh, the jungle drums deep within
Punch me on the chin
Hammer me all around
Out for the count, on the ground

They beat mercilessly on
Treat me like an ever-guilty con
Open wide the garbage bin
Throw me right in

Furious punches right and left
Send me to suicide’s edge
Covert Bpd now controls me
Jungle drums drum viciously

Friends scarcer than hen’s teeth
I ashamed, as others cross the street
And no matter how I try to fit in
I end up back at the loner’s cabin

Those jungle drums up their game
On me they heap all blame
Those jungle drums I believed
Nothing else could I conceive

Then, no thanks to me,
I’m in 12 Steps recovery
Accepting my lifetime’s insanity
True love gifts me his – I learn humility

This gift that I did not understand
We will laugh and sing about in the land
On my own but not alone
His love lives in our flesh and bones

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.